Friday, June 10, 2016

HWA Announces Finalists in Short Film Competition

The Horror Writers Association (HWA), the premier organization of writers and publishers of horror and dark fantasy, today announced the thirteen finalists in its inaugural Lucky Thr1t3en Horror Short Film Competition.

The film competition--part of the HWA's StokerCon 2016--received entries from nearly twenty countries during its six-month submission window. The thirteen finalists hail from Germany, Italy, Spain, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

"We received a staggering number of quality submissions," said Brad Hodson, chair of the film festival. "But, the work of these finalists is truly remarkable."

The Finalists

* The Barber's Cut - Mark Brocking (UK)

* Boogey-Woogie - Enrico Conte (Italy)

* Chance - Ryan Wick (US)

* Chateau Sauvignon: Terroir - David Maire (US)

* Drawn to Fear - Daniel Robinette (US)

* In The Ruins - Florian Frerichs (Germany)

* Ma Petite Sophie - RuebĂ©n Bautista (Spain)

* The Package - Eric Morgret (US)

* Quenottes (Pearlies) - Pascal Thiebaux (US)

* Scheherazade- Mehrnoush Aliaghaei (US)

* They Will All Die in Space - Javier Chillon (Spain)

* Three Wise Monkeys - Miguel Angel Font Bisier (Spain)

* Wolves - Alvaro Rodriguez (Spain)

The thirteen selected films will be screened at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on May 13 and judged by an elite panel of celebrity judges comprised of:

* Daniel Knauf, producer, The BlacklistCarnivale, and Dracula

* Monica S. Kuebler, managing editor, Rue Morgue magazine

* Mike McCarty, special effects show supervisor at KNB EFX Group

* Mark Miller, vice president, Seraphim Films

* Lisa Morton, president, Horror Writers Association

* John Skipp, screenwriter, A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream Child

* Aaron Sterns, writer, Wolf Creek: 2

* Ryan Turek, head of development, Blumhouse Productions

Upon conclusion of the screenings--hosted by Tony Timpone, editor of Fangoria Magazine--the judges will award one film/filmmaker the Tredecim Award. The award includes a $1,000 cash prize and an exclusive one-year "first look" deal with Co-Conspiracy Entertainment.

About the Horror Writers Association

The Horror Writers Association is a nonprofit organization of writers and publishing professionals around the world, dedicated to promoting dark literature and the interests of those who write it. The HWA formed in 1985 with the help of many of the field's greats, including Dean Koontz, Robert McCammon, and Joe Lansdale. The HWA is home to the prestigious Bram Stoker Award® and the annual StokerCon horror convention.

For more on the Horror Writers Associations, please visit

No comments:

Post a Comment