Saturday, June 7, 2014

SOHO International Film Festival Announces 2014 Award Winners

The 5th Annual SOHO International Film Festival announced the winners of its competition categories last night at a ceremony that was held at EVR Lounge in New York City. The festival took place from May 15th and ran through May 22nd. Every year, it draws audiences to New York City, known for its artistic community and cultural sophistication. Full-length features, short films and documentaries were submitted from around the world from professionals and amateurs and the local community embraces the filmmakers, journalists and movie goers with open arms each year.

"Both Jorge & I are very proud of the turnout this year. We are in awe and are humbled by the support we have received from the filmmaking community without whom we would not have this festival." said Sibyl Santiago, Executive Director & Head of Programming. "I have to admit that programming this year was very tough because of all the amazing films that we received."

The jury was made up of Marci Phillips (Executive Director of Casting for ABC Network), Reeves Lehman (Chair of the Film, Video & Animation Department at SVA), Sean Young (Actress known for Blade Runner, Ace Ventura Pet Detective and others) and Jennifer Liberty (Artist known for Surreal Art: Feeling Good, Towers and Picasso in my Mirror). "The esteemed members of our Jury had some extensive deliberations on the films that were nominated” stated Carlos Santiago, Director of Jury & Film Selections Committee.

The presenters of the awards included Reeves Lehman, Sean Young, James McCaffrey (Rescue Me, The Following and soon to appear in the film Sam), Alysia Reiner (Fig on Orange is the New Black), Justiin Davis (Lester White on Boardwalk Empire), Todd Bellanca (Creative Director for SIFFNYC and director known for Bad Penny and extensive work in NYC), Sibyl Santiago and Jorge Ballos, Founder & President, presented the Audience Award.

Several other celebrities came to support this year’s festival. Among them were: Adam Brody (The OC, House of Lies), Josh Lawson (Anchorman 2, House of Lies), William Sadler (Shawshank Redemption, The Green Mile), Josh Pence (Social Network, Draft Day), Jessica Hecht (Breaking Bad, Sideways), Spencer Grammer (Ironside, The Greek), Grant Shaud (Murphy Brown), Bernard White (Captain America, The Matrix Revolutions), Carrie Preston (True Blood, The Good Wife), Tom Pelphrey (Guiding Light, As The World Turns), Michael Medeiros (RoboCop2), Louise Lasser (Requiem for a Dream, Mary Hartman), Tara Holt (Californication), Bradley Stryker (SGU Stargate Universe, Smallville), Prince Lorenzo Borghese (Lucky Bastards, The Bachelor 9), Benjamin Ratner (Continuum, Eureka), Sahajak Boonthanakit & Byron Bishop (Only God Forgives) and Broadway stars Andrew Rannells (The Book of Mormon), Courtney Reed (Aladdin).

The 2014 Audience Award went to “Ink & Steel” which made its World Premiere at this festival. The film was directed by Jonathan Ehlers and Patrick Ward-Perkins, written by Jonathan Ehlers, Jason Radspinner and Patrick Ward-Perkins and starred Richard Fiske, Molly Ryman, Jack Millard and Tyler Noble.

The 2014 Best Showcase Feature Film Award went to “Night Has Settled” written and directed by Steve Clark. Starring Spencer List, Pilar Lopez de Ayala and Adriana Barrasa .This was the New York Premiere for the movie.

The 2014 Best Showcase Short Film Award went to “Karaganda” making its New York Premiere. Written and directed by Max Weissberg and starring Konstantin Lavysh, Nikita Bogolyubov and Gleb Kaminer.

2014 Best Documentary Award went to “The Fix” which made its World Premiere at this festival. Written and directed by Laura Naylor.

2014 Best Animated Film Award went to “Mr. Hublot” written by Laurent Witz and directed by Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares. The film had previously won an Oscar for Best Animated Short at this year’s Academy Awards.

The 2014 Best World Showcase Award went to “Down River” written and directed by Ben Ratner and starring Helen Shaver, Gabrielle Miller, Jennifer Spence and Colleen Rennison. This was the film’s New York Premiere.

The 2014 Best World Short Film Award went to “Lambing Season” written and directed by Jeannie Donohue. This was the movie’s New York Premiere and starred Breeda Wool, Seamus Moran, Padraig Murray and Jamund Washington.

The screenings this year were held at Village East Cinema, 189 2nd Avenue (12th Street), New York.


The SOHO International Film Festival was founded by Jorge Ballos in 2010. The festival receives submissions from around the world from countries such as Canada, Germany, Philippines, UK, Thailand, Australia, Puerto Rico, Kenya, Israel, Turkey, Colombia, Spain, Italy, France, Japan, Bangladesh, Ireland, Sweden, Austria, Switzerland, Korea, Brazil and of course, the United States. Greece, Algeria, Ukraine, Zimbabwe and Mayanmar join the group this year. This rapidly growing film festival is attended by thousands of local and international patrons and filmmakers. The screening and judging committee is headed by Carlos Santiago.

This year celebrated their fifth edition with the launch of their new branding, along with a SOHO Trailer that officially opened the Festival. This project is spearheaded by Todd Bellanca as SIFFNYC’s Creative Director and produced by Executive Director Sibyl Santiago with Sitting Cat Productions in partnership with Handlheld Films, Brooklyn Fire Proof Stages, Hit & Run Productions, Donald Case Casting, Run Riot, SWM Creative, GCR Audio and post and vfx done by dpost. Other partners include mongomedia, priv, Pvblic, Domaines Barons de Rothchild's Los Vascos Wines with several after parties organized by NiteTables.

For more information, please email or visit

No comments:

Post a Comment